Denver Law Review

Volume 24 | Issue 1

Article 4

January 1947

Report of the Judiciary Committee

Philip S. Van Cise

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.du.edu/dlr

Recommended Citation

Philip S. Van Cise, Report of the Judiciary Committee, 24 Dicta 15 (1947).

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Denver Law Review at Digital Commons @ DU. It has been accepted for inclusion in Denver Law Review by an authorized editor of Digital Commons @ DU. For more information, please contact jennifer.cox@du.edu,dig-commons@du.edu.

Report of the Judiciary Committee		

DICTA 15

Report of the Judiciary Committee

By PHILIP S. VAN CISE, CHAIRMAN

The Judiciary Committee expects to make a brief monthly report to the the bar of the progress of its work.

Districts which have completed their final financial quota and their organization by counties are as follows:

	Completed	Completed
District	Quota	Committee
First		x
Second		x
Third		
Fourth		x
Fifth		x
Sixth		
Seventh		x
Eighth	x	x
Ninth		x
Tenth	x	x
Eleventh		x
Twelfth	x	x
Thirteenth	x	x
Fourteenth	x	x
Fifteenth	x	

We are now mailing out to all districts and county chairmen complete sets of forms to get the data on all the justice courts, county courts—both county court and juvenile court—and district courts. We originally intended to get this date for each of the ten years from 1937 through 1946, inclusive, but decided that task was too great for the funds and force available. Consequently, we are getting this for five of the years instead of the ten, and the information will be for the years 1938, 1940, 1942, 1944, and 1946.

The committee chairman in each county has a tremendous job in getting this data and will need all the assistance he can possibly get from other members of the bar. The justice court data will have to be obtained from the dockets where available, and in most cases where the county judge is not a lawyer and there is no office force, the county court information will have to be obtained in the same manner. In the main, in the larger counties and district courts, this information can be obtained from the clerks.

We need volunteers to help these county chairmen, and we therefore give you a list of the counties and county chairmen so that you can contact them and help on this all important job:

Adams, Harry Behm. Alamosa, Merle Marshall. 16 Dicta

Arapahoe, Earl Hower.

Archuleta, A. M. Emigh (District Chairman).

Baca, Averill C. Johnson (District Chairman).

Bent, Averill C. Johnson (District Chairman).

Boulder, Henry O. Andrew.

Chaffee, John M. Boyle.

Chevenne, V. H. Johnson.

Clear Creek, Erl H. Ellis.

Conejos, Fidel Chavez.

Costilla, Raphael Moses.

Crowley, Erven T. Larson.

Custer, Frank G. Stinemeyer.

Delta, Roderick N. Stewart.

Dolores, A. M. Emigh (District Chairman).

Douglas, Harold Senter.

Eagle, Harold A. Grant (District Court Chairman), Charles R. Casey (County Court Chairman), William J. Meehan (Justice Court Chairman).

Elbert, Harry Anderson.

El Paso, Chester B. Horn.

Fremont, James Harrison Hawthorne.

Garfield, C. H. Darrow.

Gilpin, LeRoy J. Williams.

Grand, James Mosley.

Gunnison, Robert G. Porter.

Hinsdale, Mrs. Dorothy Jo French.

Huerfano, Frank H. Hall (District Chairman).

Jackson, Hatfield Chilson.

Jefferson, Emory L. O'Connell.

Kiowa, Averill C. Johnson (District Chairman).

Kit Carson, Thornton H. Thomas, Jr.

Lake, (see Eagle County).

La Plata, A. M. Emigh (District Chairman).

Larimer, John D. Hartman.

Las Animas, Frank H. Hall (District Chairman).

Lincoln, John G. Reid.

Logan, T. E. Munson.

Mesa, Charles M. Holmes.

Mineral, M. T. Hancock.

Moffat, James Mosley.

Montezuma, A. M. Emigh (District Chairman).

Morgan, George Epperson.

Otero, Perry E. Williams (District Court Chairman); Laurence Thulemeyer (County Court Chairman); George S. Cosand (Justice Court Chairman).

DICTA 17

Ouray, Jerome Paul.

Park, Foster Cline.

Phillips, Sherman E. Walrod.

Pitkin, C. H. Darrow.

Prowers, Averill C. Johnson (District Chairman).

Pueblo, Laurence E. Langdon (District Court Chairman), Sam Parlapiano (County Court Chairman), John Faricy (Justice Court Chairman).

Rio Blanco, C. H. Darrow.

Rio Grande, Frank Shaw.

Routt, James Mosley.

Saguache, Robert R. Tarbell.

San Juan, A. M. Emigh (District Chairman).

San Miguel, C. N. Fairlamb.

Sedgwick, Richard D. Dittemore.

Summit (see Eagle County)

Teller, Sam Nikkel

Washington, Frank D. Allen.

Weld, M. E. H. Smith.

Yuma, M. M. Bulkeley.

Stanley H. Johnson, the executive secretary, now has his office at room 706 Ernest & Crammer Bldg., Denver, on the same floor as the office of the Judiciary Committee, which is room 727, CHerry 1384. The executive secretary is in process of analyzing and digesting the Model Judiciary Act and the Arkansas plan of the American Judicature Society, and will shortly make a report.

Many lawyers are now sending in their suggestions. We want suggestions and help from all of you.

Upon Information and Belief

A bequest to Colorado University

Mrs. Sadie D. Rogers, who died recently in Denver, left the law school of Colorado University a bequest of \$5,000 for the benefit of the school and law library, in memory of her late husband, George Rogers, who lived many years in Boulder.

American Bar Association Meeting

This year's American Bar Association meeting, held in Atlantic City the last of October, was not quite the full-scale meeting which had been anticipated. Atlantic City is too far geographically from too many places and too far above the economic standards of too many places to attract many people. However, there was a good registration and Colorado was represented by her old faithfuls. The breaking out of two new sections—Administrative Law and Labor Law—adds to the confusion of sections already existing. Tuxes