Stanley Yates


Matanya Ophee, Soundboard, Guitar Foundation of America, historical research in guitar


The guitar historian Matanya Ophee's writings in Soundboard span almost his entire career as a researcher. In this restrospective, Stanley Yates surveys Ophee's work in general before offering a bibliography and commentary on his contributions to Soundboard: articles, reviews, and columns.


This article is one of a series of seven celebrating the work of Matanya Ophee (1932–2017) on the ninetieth anniversary of his birth. Written between 1982 and 1991, these articles first appeared in early issues of the GFA’s magazine Soundboard.

The writings in this series are really columns—short introductions to scores, which are also reproduced here as they appeared in the original magazines. Ophee’s long-form research appears in various places, but an important anthology is his Essays on Guitar History (Columbus, OH: Orphee, 2016). An introduction to the present series, surveying Ophee’s contribution to Soundboard, is provided by Stanley Yates.

Below are links to each article in the series:


Matanya Ophee’s Contributions to Soundboard Magazine: A Retrospective, by Stanley Yates

  1. A Rondo Allegro by François Molino
  2. Carlos Pedrell’s Al atardecer en los jardines de Arlaja
  3. Rudolph Süss’s Lyrische Suite no. 1, op. 23
  4. J.N. Bobrowicz’s Grand Polonaise, op. 24
  5. Rudolph Süss’s Lyrische Suite no. 2, op. 24
  6. Elsa Just’s Ständchen for Guitar Trio
  7. Athénaïs Paulian’s Airs and Variations, op. 1



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.